7 days to goBritish Columbia votes on Saturday, October 24, 2026

Get in front of undecided British Columbia voters

David Eby was paid $665,834 in his first three full years as premier. Here is what the public records show

Every dollar of David Eby's pay, travel costs and reported gifts as premier, taken from the Legislative Assembly's own reports and his yearly disclosure statements.

Email

BC provincial election 2026 report on David Eby's pay as premier, by the voche.me editors

This report by the voche.me editors uses public records only. Each one is linked at the end.

David Eby has been premier of British Columbia since November 18, 2022. The Legislative Assembly publishes what it pays every MLA each year, down to the dollar. It also publishes what each MLA spends on travel. Each MLA must also file a yearly statement of what they own and owe.

We read all of them. Here is what they show.

His pay, year by year

A budget year runs from April 1 to March 31. The Assembly's yearly reports show these totals for Mr. Eby:

  1. 2022/23: $180,452. He became premier part way through this year.
  2. 2023/24: $213,371.
  3. 2024/25: $225,944.
  4. 2025/26: $226,519.

His first three full years as premier add up to $665,834. With the year he took office, the four reports add up to $846,286.

Each total has two parts. The first is basic pay, which every MLA gets. For Mr. Eby it was $114,731 in 2023/24, $119,173 in 2024/25 and $119,205 in 2025/26. The second is extra pay for his job in cabinet: $98,640, $106,771 and $107,314 in those years.

The highest paid MLA in each of the last three years

He was the highest paid MLA in each of the last three reports. The gaps were:

  1. 2023/24: $41,259 more than the next MLA.
  2. 2024/25: $47,283 more.
  3. 2025/26: $47,695 more. The next highest total that year was $178,824.

The reason is the law. Every MLA gets the same basic pay under the Members' Remuneration and Pensions Act. Some jobs add a share on top. A cabinet minister gets 50 per cent extra. So does the Leader of the Official Opposition. The premier gets 90 per cent extra, the largest share on the Assembly's salary table.

What he is paid now

The Assembly's salary table of April 1, 2026 sets basic MLA pay at $122,042.91 a year. The premier's extra pay is $109,838.62. Together that is $231,881.53 a year, or $8,894.09 every two weeks before tax.

Whoever is premier after October 24 will start at that rate. Basic pay rises each April 1 with the cost of living in BC, unless the legislature decides to skip the raise.

It did skip one. CTV News reported on April 14, 2025 that a planned raise of 2.6 per cent was cancelled. An all party committee of the legislature had voted for that in March. Prince George Now reported that it was the third time in three years that MLAs had turned down a raise. The pay reports agree: Mr. Eby's basic pay was $119,173 in 2024/25 and $119,205 the year after.

What his travel cost

The Assembly's travel reports show these totals for Mr. Eby:

  1. 2023/24: $69,715.
  2. 2024/25: $65,294.
  3. 2025/26: $108,897.

That is $243,906 over three years. The 2025/26 total is $43,603 higher than the year before, an increase of 66.8 per cent.

Here is how the 2025/26 total breaks down:

  1. $52,358 for travel inside British Columbia.
  2. $32,170 for travel outside the province on government business. The government pays this, and the Assembly reports it.
  3. $17,305 for a place to stay in Victoria. Mr. Eby was MLA for Vancouver-Point Grey. MLAs from outside the Victoria area can claim this, up to $25,983 a year for members who rent.
  4. $4,800 in daily payments for meals and small costs, at up to $61 a day.
  5. $2,264 for three trips by a person travelling with him. Each MLA may use up to 12 such trips a year.

The parts add up to the total printed in the report. The reports count only claims already paid, so a claim still being processed is left out.

What about his net worth?

No public record says what David Eby is worth.

Each year, every MLA files a statement under the Members' Conflict of Interest Act. It lists the kinds of things a member owns and owes. It asks for no dollar values. We do not print a net worth figure, because any figure would be a guess.

His statement of April 2, 2026 lists:

  1. Income: his pay as MLA and premier, and nothing else.
  2. Savings: bank deposits, and savings in registered plans: an RRSP, a TFSA and an RESP. An investment advisor makes every trading decision. The statement says what is in the plans is not disclosed to him.
  3. Debts: a line of credit and a car loan, both with CIBC. He is also listed as guarantor on a CIBC mortgage.

The statements of 2024 and 2025 list the same kinds of savings and debts.

The statements also cover his family. We leave that part out, because family members who do not hold office are private people.

The gifts he reported

An MLA must report a gift worth more than $250 received because of the job. Mr. Eby's last three statements list these:

  1. Three Canucks game tickets and three jerseys, worth $1,200 in total, received on October 4, 2023.
  2. Two game admissions, listed with no commercial value, and the use of a Canucks private box, at an Invictus Games event on November 20, 2023.
  3. Four tickets to the Vancouver Rugby Sevens at BC Place, worth $380, received on February 25, 2024.
  4. A Canucks jersey with "Eby" and the number 24 on the back, worth $279.99, received on May 7, 2024.
  5. Three private box tickets to the Canucks game against the Edmonton Oilers on May 10, 2024, with no value listed.
  6. A beaver pelt, given as a protocol gift by the Chief of the Takla Nation on January 14, 2025, with no value listed.
  7. Twelve books and 24 admission tickets from the Vancouver Chinatown Storytelling Centre, worth $892.20, received on January 6, 2026.
  8. A Vancouver Goldeneyes hockey jersey, worth $275, received on January 13, 2026.

The gifts that list a value add up to $3,027.19.

What these numbers mean

The pay rate belongs to the job. The law sets it, and the next premier will be paid at the same rate. His statements list no income from any other source. The travel costs and the gifts are what the law asks every MLA to report, and his reports are on file for each year.

The pay and travel reports say they are unaudited and count money when it was paid.

Read the records below and decide for yourself. The BC NDP page lists the party's candidates. Election day is October 24, 2026.

Questions this story answers

How much is David Eby paid as premier of British Columbia?

From April 1, 2026 the premier's pay rate is $231,881.53 a year. That is basic MLA pay of $122,042.91 plus an extra $109,838.62 for the premier's office, which is 90 per cent of basic pay. The figures are in the Legislative Assembly's salary table of April 2026.

How much was David Eby paid in each year as premier?

The Legislative Assembly's yearly pay reports show $213,371 for April 2023 to March 2024, $225,944 for April 2024 to March 2025 and $226,519 for April 2025 to March 2026. The three years add up to $665,834. For April 2022 to March 2023, the year he became premier on November 18, 2022, the report shows $180,452.

Is David Eby the highest paid MLA in British Columbia?

Yes, in each of the last three yearly reports. In 2025/26 he was paid $226,519, which is $47,695 more than the next MLA on the list, $178,824. In 2024/25 the gap was $47,283 and in 2023/24 it was $41,259. The premier's extra pay of 90 per cent is the largest on the Assembly's salary table.

What is David Eby's net worth?

No public record states it. His yearly disclosure statement under the Members' Conflict of Interest Act lists the kinds of assets and debts he holds, and the Act does not ask for dollar values. Any net worth figure would be a guess, so voche.me does not print one.

What assets and debts does David Eby report?

His statement of April 2, 2026 lists bank deposits and savings held in registered plans: an RRSP, a TFSA and an RESP. An investment advisor makes all trading decisions in those plans, and the statement says the contents are not disclosed to him. His debts are a line of credit and a car loan, both with CIBC, and he is listed as guarantor on a CIBC mortgage. His only income is his MLA and premier's pay.

How much did David Eby spend on travel as premier?

The Legislative Assembly's travel reports show $69,715 for 2023/24, $65,294 for 2024/25 and $108,897 for 2025/26, a total of $243,906. In 2025/26 the largest parts were $52,358 for travel inside British Columbia and $32,170 for travel outside the province on government business.

Why does David Eby get a housing allowance in Victoria?

Every MLA who lives outside the Capital Regional District can claim the cost of a place to stay in Victoria, within a yearly limit. Mr. Eby was MLA for Vancouver-Point Grey. The 2025/26 report shows $17,305 for his accommodation in Victoria under the option for members who rent, which has a limit of $25,983 a year.

Did MLAs get a raise in 2025?

No. CTV News reported on April 14, 2025 that a 2.6 per cent raise was cancelled, after an all party committee of the legislature voted for it in March. Prince George Now reported it was the third time in three years that MLAs had turned down a raise. The pay reports show Mr. Eby's basic pay as $119,173 in 2024/25 and $119,205 in 2025/26.

What gifts has David Eby reported as premier?

His statements list gifts worth more than $250, as the law requires. They include Canucks tickets and jerseys, rugby tickets, a beaver pelt given as a protocol gift by the Takla Nation, books and tickets from the Vancouver Chinatown Storytelling Centre, and a Vancouver Goldeneyes jersey. The gifts that list a value add up to $3,027.19.

Who wrote this article and where do the numbers come from?

The voche.me editors wrote it on October 17, 2026. Every number comes from the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia's own pay and travel reports, its salary table, or Mr. Eby's public disclosure statements, except the 2025 raise, which comes from CTV News and Prince George Now. Each source is linked at the end.

Sources

The pages this story draws on. Open one to check a claim yourself.

  1. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Compensation, April 1, 2025 to March 31, 2026 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  2. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Compensation, April 1, 2024 to March 31, 2025 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  3. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Compensation, April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  4. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Compensation, April 1, 2022 to March 31, 2023 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  5. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Travel Expenses, April 1, 2025 to March 31, 2026 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  6. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Travel Expenses, April 1, 2024 to March 31, 2025 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  7. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA Travel Expenses, April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024 (unaudited)lims.leg.bc.ca
  8. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: MLA additional salary table, April 1, 2026members.leg.bc.ca
  9. Legislative Assembly of British Columbia: Salaries and allowances, read October 17, 2026members.leg.bc.ca
  10. Conflict of Interest Commissioner: Public disclosure statement of David Eby, as at April 2, 2026lims.leg.bc.ca
  11. Conflict of Interest Commissioner: Public disclosure statement of David Eby, as at March 14, 2025lims.leg.bc.ca
  12. Conflict of Interest Commissioner: Public disclosure statement of David Eby, as at May 8, 2024lims.leg.bc.ca
  13. CFAX 1070 (CTV News): MLA raise cancelled, April 14, 2025cfax1070.com
  14. Prince George Now: No pay increase for BC MLAs in 2025, April 15, 2025myprincegeorgenow.com

Found an error? Tell the editors with the corrections form. A correction is noted on the story it changes. Read our standards.

Topics

More from voche.me

CORRECTIONS

Report a problem on this page.

Tell the editors what is wrong and where the correct information can be checked. The page you are on is attached automatically.